ACHP Board of Directors Symposium Draws Quality, Policy and Marketing Experts

(Washington, D.C.) ACHP’s 15th Annual Board of Directors Symposium will feature a number of renowned health care experts. The theme of the invitation-only conference is “Crossing the Quality Chasm,” a reference to the Institute of Medicine (IOM) report whose principles have been adopted as the foundation of mission and vision statement recently set forth by ACHP’s Board of Directors:

The mission of ACHP is to promote the highest standards of health care quality and health improvement through collaborative learning, innovation and advocacy. ACHP and its members seek to transform health care so that it is safe, effective, patient-centered, timely, efficient and equitable.

The March 10-12 event is for board members of ACHP member plans, and the agenda is tailored to give them a chance to discuss current concerns and share common interests. About 50 board members plan to attend. ACHP’s Board of Directors will also attend the meeting in South Carolina.

“The speakers that we were able to attract to this meeting say volumes about the health plans that are members of ACHP,” said Jack Ebeler, ACHP president.

Speakers include:

  • Janet M. Corrigan, Ph. D., Director of the Board of Health Care Services at IOM, which is responsible for projects relating to health care quality, safety, insurance and benefits coverage, organization, delivery and financing. Dr. Corrigan is also the director of IOM’s Quality Initiative, an IOM-wide initiative designed to provide leadership, a strategic direction and analytic tools that will contribute to a threshold improvement in quality over the next decade.
  • Margaret (Peggy) O’Kane, President, National Committee on Quality Assurance (NCQA). Under Ms. O’Kane’s leadership, NCQA has developed broad support among employer and health plan communities. NCQA is an independent, non-profit organization whose mission is to improve the quality of health care everywhere. It uses the Health Plan Employer and Data Information Set® (HEDIS®) to evaluate plans. (ACHP helped develop HEDIS® measures; all ACHP plans are NCQA accredited.)
  • Stuart Altman, Ph.D., health care economist at Brandeis University. Dr. Altman is the Sol C. Chaikin Professor of National Health Policy at The Florence Heller Graduate School for Social Policy of Brandeis University. Dr. Altman’s research interests are primarily in the area of federal and state health policy. He is currently co-chair of the Governor/Legislative Health Task Force for the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.
  • Ted Wise, Senior Vice President, Marketing, Member Health and Customer Service at HealthPartners. Mr. Wise is responsible for HealthPartners’ health improvement, worksite health, sales, advertising, programs and strategies for product development and management, customer systems, Internet, market and customer satisfaction research, community relations, corporate communications, and member and customer service.

In addition, board members will participate in a variety of panels focusing on various governance issues in pursuing their long-standing commitment to quality.